

Media Contacts: Alan English (703) 838-8105 Molly Wyman (703) 838-8148 pr@moaa.org

Military Officers Association of America Presenting: 2018 Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award to U.S. Reps. McSally and Sinema

ALEXANDRIA, Va. (February 28, 2018) — <u>Military Officers Association of America (MOAA)</u> will present its Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award to two U.S. representatives at an April event on Capitol Hill. All awardees are expected to attend.

U.S. Reps. Martha McSally (R) **and Kyrsten Sinema** (D), both of Arizona, will be honored for their strong leadership advocacy to sustain our nation's all-volunteer force. McSally is a member of the House Committee on Armed Services, and Sinema is a member of the Financial Services Committee. The Marix Award is named for the retired Marine Corps colonel who founded MOAA in 1929. It is presented annually to members of Congress who distinguish themselves in protecting the rights and interests of uniformed services members, their families and survivors.

"We selected Representatives McSally and Sinema because of their committee contributions in support of military service members, veterans, and their families in the past and what we hope to see more of in the future," said retired Army Col. Mike Barron, MOAA's government relations director for currently serving and retired affairs.

MOAA's 2018 Colonel Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award recipients will be Jorge Rueda, formerly with the Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee, and Samantha Gonzalez, with the House Veterans' Affairs Committee. MOAA's 2018 Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Tim Barone, president and CEO of Vantage Mobility International, and Kevin Johnson, president and CEO of Starbucks Coffee Company.

MOAA has awarded the Marix and Distinguished Service awards since 1997. Past recipients of the Marix Award include Sens. Lindsay Graham, John McCain, and Jim Webb; past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award include Tom Brokaw, Toby Keith, and retired Army Gen. Colin Powell. The Arcari award recognizing congressional staff members was first awarded in 2000. For more information about MOAA, please visit <u>www.moaa.org</u>.

###

About MOAA:

Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) is the nation's largest military officers' association with more than 350,000 members from every branch of uniformed service, including active duty, retired, National Guard, Reserve, and former officers and their families and survivors. MOAA is a nonprofit and politically nonpartisan organization and an influential force in promoting a strong national defense. MOAA represents the interests of service members and their families in every stage of their lives and careers, and for those who are not eligible to join MOAA, Voices for America's Troops is a nonprofit MOAA affiliate that supports a strong national defense. For more information, visit www.moaa.org or www.voicesfortroops.org/.

Stay connected with MOAA: